Where to get initial materials for a cardboard composter

After sharing the post about the composting method that I’ve adopted on Facebook, I received some questions about where to get the initial materials, kuntan and bamboo powder.

So here is a follow-up related to the questions.

Momigara-kuntan (or Sobagara-kuntan そば殻くん炭) is quite a popular gardening material in Japan, so you can easily find bags of kuntan in big DIY and gardening stores.

For the bamboo powder, if you are lucky enough, you might find some in the same store where you get the kuntan, but I couldn’t find it at the stores in my area. So, for now, I have to rely on mail order to get bamboo powder.

Here are some web sites where you can order the bamboo powder from:

sugoi-tuchi.com

takepowder.yaokisangyo.jp

takemori.shop-pro.jp

The most straightforward approach is to buy a starter kit that consists of a cardboard box and initial materials, as I did. I bought mine from Hino city, which is about 18 miles away from where I live. I also made my shopping trip an excursion to Takahatafudoson 高幡不動尊, so it was fun.

You can also buy a kit from an NPO, Junnamaken 循生研 through mail order if you live in Japan.

If you need more information, please let me know in the comments section.

Leave a comment